It is common knowledge that if you want to drive in Georgia, you need to have insurance on your car. What is not as well understood is how much and what type of coverage you need, or should have, above and beyond the state mandatory minimum. Georgia requires drivers to carry, at the very minimum, $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage for injuries to a single person and $50,000 for bodily injury to all individuals injured in a single accident. The law also mandates that you carry $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
While those are the state minimums, for many car owners and drivers, that coverage is inadequate. When you walk into an independent auto insurance agency in Mountain Park, GA, you are probably hoping that you will get a low rate when you purchase a policy. However, if you want, or need more than the bare minimum coverage, it will cost you more. How much more you will have to pay depends on a number of different factors.
First, you have to determine how much extra or optional coverage to buy. If you are financing your car, part of that decision is already determined under the terms of the loan agreement you signed with your lender. In most cases, you will want to buy collision and comprehensive coverage that provides protection for your car. It is also usually a good idea to increase the amount of liability coverage on your policy, because one serious accident can easily result in damages that far exceed the state minimum liability coverage. You can also add other optional coverage such as rental car reimbursement, towing, and roadside service.
Your independent agent will explain each type of available optional coverage and you can decide if you want it included on your policy. No matter what you decide, you should get multiple quotes so you can find the most affordable rates for the coverage you desire.